Vegan & Vegetarian Celebrities

  • Paul McCartney: “I am a vegetarian because I realize that even little chickens suffer pain and fear, experience a range of feelings and emotions, and are as intelligent as mammals, including dogs, cats, and even some primates.”
  • Casey Affleck: “I don’t eat meat or any other animal products because they’re unhealthy and they’re the product of a violent and inhumane industry.
  • Tobey Maguire: “I had a really tough time even eating chicken. I would start imagining what I was eating and the life of the animals.”
  • Alicia Silverstone: “Since I’ve gone vegetarian, my body has never felt better and my taste buds have been opened up to a whole new world. It’s one of the most rewarding choices I’ve ever made and I invite you to join me in living a healthy, cruelty-free lifestyle.”
  • Russell Simmons: “Chickens raised for food today are covered in excrement, they’re diseased, and they’re drugged up with all sorts of toxins that you are ingesting if you eat chickens. One recent study found that chicken flesh in this country has four times as much arsenic–yes, arsenic, the poison (which is used in the drugs the chickens are given) as any other meat. I have been a vegan for many years.”
  • Carrie Underwood: “I do it because I really love animals and [killing them for meat] just makes me sad.”
  • Natalie Portman: “I am a very strict vegetarian … I just really, really love animals and I act on my values. I am really against cruelty to animals.”
  • Kristen Bell: “I have always been an animal lover. I had a hard time disassociating the animals I cuddled with –dogs and cats, for example– from the animals on my plate.”
  • Pam Anderson: “Chicken, pigs, and other animals? They are interesting individuals with personalities and intelligence. What people need to understand is that if they are eating animals, they are promoting cruelty to animals.”
  • Dalai Lama: “I have been particularly concerned with the sufferings of chickens for many years. It was the death of a chicken that finally strengthened my resolve to become a vegetarian. These days, when I see a row of plucked chickens hanging in a meat shop it hurts. I find it unacceptable that violence is the basis of some of our food habits.”
  • Joaquin Phoenix: “Animal rights is a part of my everyday life. When you live by example, you create a certain level of awareness. Friends of mine, people I have never discussed animal rights or vegetarianism with, are adopting vegetarian habits because they see it.”
  • Clint Eastwood: “I try to stick to a vegan diet — heavy on fruit, vegetables, tofu, and other soy products.”

Think famous athletes can’t get muscle or perform well if they’re vegan? How about these as proof that they can:

  • Carl Lewis: Olympian of the Century, Olympic medalist in track
  • Robert Parish: one of the 50 Greatest Players in NBA History
  • Desmond Howard: Heisman trophy winner and Super Bowl MVP
  • Bill Pearl: professional bodybuilder and four-time Mr. Universe
  • Keith Holmes: boxing champion
  • Chris Evert: tennis champion
  • Edwin Moses: two-time Olympic gold medalist in hurdles
Leave a Reply

