What I’ve been up to in the kitchen

I have made some really great stuff lately and I wanted to share a few of them with you all. First is my favorite of the month: almond ice cream. Yes they sell it in the store, but there are things wrong with even that. I wanted it from scratch and wanted to know every single ingredient that went into it. Let me tell you I was shocked how delicious this was and it only had four ingredients! Almonds, water, vanilla powder, and agave nectar. Those sound so weird when you try to equate with ice cream, but don’t worry, it’ll all work out for ya. You mix equal parts purified water and almonds. Since it was just me having it, I used one cup of almonds and one cup of water. Put in blender and go until smooth. Add your vanilla and agave to taste. Pour the mix into ice trays and freeze until mostly hard. Take out and pour back into blender. I poured a little almond milk in at this point because I wanted to get the blades going better and I like more of a soft-serve creamy type of texture. Just keep blendin’ until you have the consistency you want and serve immediately! You could also add cacao powder if you wanted a chocolate flavor. After a few bites of my vanilla ice cream I decided I wanted it fruity so I put it back in the blender and added frozen raspberries. Divine.

Here are the next sweet treats: apricot macaroons. I got the idea from a recipe in Raw Energy by Stephanie Tourles (my version is slightly different). Now you are going to need a dehydrator, so if you don’t have one, skip to the next recipe. 1.5 cups dried apricots soaked for 4 hours in purified water; 3 cups unsweetened dried coconut (fine shreds); 1/2 cup grounded or chopped almonds; pinch of salt. You can keep the soak water from the apricots for later…I put mine in my green drink the next morning, yum! Put the ingredients in a food processor until everything is well mixed and chunky. I had to stop the blades constantly to scrape down the sides and go again. Put into small cookie shapes on mesh dehydrator screens and dehydrate for 1.5-2 days. They will be a little crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. They stay at room temp for up to 2 weeks tightly sealed or in the fridge for up to a month.

Quinoa Tabouli from The Complete Book of Raw Food by Julie Rodwell (but recipe is by Elaina Love). Ingredients for a serving of 6:

  • 4 cups sprouted quinoa (soak 2 cups of the grain and then sprout a day or two)
  • 4 green onions thinly sliced
  • 20 mint leaves minced
  • 1 large tomato finely chopped and seeded
  • 3/4 cucumber finely chopped and seeded
  • 1/4 cup parsley minced (I didn’t have it so I used cilantro and it was great)
  • 4-6 TBS olive oil
  • 3-5 TBS lemon juice
  • 1-2 TBS tamari or Bragg Liquid Aminos

Mix everything together in a bowl and let sit at least an hour before eating, to let all the flavors soak together.

Next: Loaded grilled cheese sandwich. By Annie McCall. You make the grilled cheese sandwich just like any other but the three differences are:
1. for the outside of the sandwich and in the pan use Earth Balance buttery spread

2. for the cheese use Daiya shredded mozzarella flavor

3. add a bunch of awesome stuff to it like: tomato slice, Gimme Lean soy sausage, heated onions, and maybe a leaf or two of arugula.

If you make any of these, please come back and comment with your results and opinions! More recipes to come.

Leave a Reply

