MyDietAnalysis online program: review

I am currently enrolled in Introductory Nutrition at a community college and I love it. I’m only in week two and have learned a good amount so far. One thing that stands out that I want to share and promote (not because I benefit from it but because I think it’s so helpful that everyone should try) is an online software program where you track what you eat (it’s totally customize-able) and what your extra activity is (besides the basic walking, standing, moving, etc.); you make a profile and answer some questions about your body and how sedentary or active your lifestyle is in general; and it will then compute EVERYTHING for you — how many daily recommended calories and nutrients based on whether you want to lose, gain, or maintain your weight.

My activity level label is ‘low active’; I put in my height and weight and it calculated my BMI, 21.5, which is in the normal zone (obese is 35 or higher), and it told me I should consume about 1700 calories a day. If I exercise more, then I can eat a little more, as long as at the end of the day those numbers are met. The part I love the most is the percent of daily values in nutrients (there are six nutrients: carbs, fat, protein, water, vitamins, minerals) that I am required to consume and the graphs that go along with them, which tell me how I am doing as far as meeting those percentages.

Check out my first day’s results in my report here. You can see that I did not meet all of the items on the list. For example out of everything I ate, I had no vitamin D at all. But look at my vitamin A!–I killed it! So today, I am trying harder to eat foods higher in the vitamins that I was missing. Also, the water value isn’t accurate, that is only the water count in some of the foods I ate; I don’t track glasses of water in there.

About the software. I know the question you want to ask. The answer is no. It is not free, it is $15, but so far, for me, it has been WELL worth it! I can enter as many profiles as I want, and so far I have mine and Eric’s in there so he can track his too. I could put my mom in there, my friends, I could put YOU in there, as long as you write down for a day or two everything you eat and how much (cups, grams, etc.) and send it to me. I will plug in the data and get you a report like mine so you can have a sort of ‘free trial’ through me (email me or contact me through Facebook) and see if you are meeting your calorie goals and your nutrient requirement–which is important to stay healthy.

It’s weird to say it like this but tracking my nutrients and trying to reach my requirements for each one is kind of like a game! And it’s a fun [slightly challenging] game. Here it is: mydietanalysis.pearsoncmg.com Enjoy!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shawn Chereskin on January 18, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    Hi Annie!
    My mom, Phyllis, told me about your blog and I love it! Like you, I am very much into nutrition and healthy eating. I love Alicia Silverstone as well and have been following a vegetarian diet for about one month now and feel great. I’m not quite ready to make the switch to a full blown vegan diet (it’s hard with kids who are accustomed to a certain way of eating). I wanted to ask you how the vegetarian or vegan diet is addressed in the nutrition class you are taking? Are the teachers including this lifestyle or are they still pushing the animal protein diet and milk for calcium? I’m also interested in taking a nutrition class one day, but was wondering if it would support vegetarianism or if I would just feel frustrated with the old school of thinking. I don’t know how progressive that field has become in support of a plant based diet.
    Thanks for all of this great information. I look forward to following your blog!
    Be Well!
    Shawn

    Reply

    • Super good question about what they are teaching as far as diet in the nutrition class, I had the exact same qualms about it. They are presenting the USDA Food Guide and Dietary Guidelines for Americans but then, sort of as side notes they do say that protein can come from non-animal sources and dairy as well. I am only in chapter two so far. What I prefer is to follow these graphs as I plug in my foods to see what macro- or micro-nutrients I need and then I seek out foods that have those nutrients in them. People usually worry I don’t get enough protein but in my study explained here, I had trouble with Vitamin D, E, Calcium, and Iron. I plant to take supplements for these for now.

      But I do recommend you take a class especially if you have a good teacher who likes it when you challenge what the text says (as mine does, luckily). I am taking it online through Rio Salado and her name is Joyce Edwards Classen. The textbook is dated 2012 and comes with an accompanying link with resources that are even more up-to-date and also includes current topics or debates with different viewpoints on diet.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

